Skip to content

Bonus Lists from the 2000’s

September 12, 2009

bestSince a simple top twenty was not enough I’ve decided to throw in some extras for everyone’s enjoyment. I had a lot of fun writing the first list, and the feedback was positive, so here is an assortment of extra things that I’ve listed from this past decade.

To start off with, the ten best albums from this past decade that did not make it in to my top 20.

10. Volume One, She & Him

9. Tell All Your Friends, Taking Back Sunday

8. Give Up, The Postal Service

7. Heartbreaker, Ryan Adams

6. Armchair Apocrypha, Andrew Bird

5. Dear Science, TV on the Radio

4. Z, My Morning Jacket

3. Small Steps, Heavy Hooves, Dear and the Headlights

2. Girls Can Tell, Spoon

1. Castaways and Cutouts, The Decemberists

There’s a good variety of really good music represented in albums 21-30. Honestly, I could have kept going and come up with a good hundred or so albums from the past ten years. Limiting myself was very hard, but I feel good about the thirty albums that I have represented as my favorites.

This next list breaks down which album was the best, in my opinion, in a given year from the past ten. It’s pretty self explanatory and most of this could have been gleaned from reading the previous lists, but it’s listed for good measure.

2000: Heartbreaker, Ryan Adams

2001: Girls Can Tell, Spoon

2002: Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, Wilco

2003: Hi, Everything’s Great, Limbeck

2004: A Ghost is Born, Wilco

2005: Cold Roses, Ryan Adams

2006: The Crane Wife, The Decemberists

2007: Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga, Spoon

2008: Midnight Organ Fight, Frightened Rabbit

2009: I’m not ready to say just yet.

Keeping in the spirit of year-by-year listing I’ve broken down which years I thought had the best new music to offer. This list deviates from my typical structure and presents the best first and follows in descending order. I listed the names of what albums made these years so spectacular and even offered some albums that did not make my list but easily could have.

2003: Hi Everything’s Great, Deja Entendu, Transatlanticism, The Ugly Organ, Chutes Too Narrow, Hearts of Oak, Take This To Your Grave, Give Up, Castaways and Cutouts, Her Majesty The Decemberists

2005: Cold Roses, Illinois, I’m Wide Awake It’s Morning, Z, Gimme Fiction, Plans, Picaresque

2004: A Ghost is Born, Good News For People Who Love Bad News, Funeral, More Adventurous, Hot Fuss

2007: Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga, Small Steps, Heavy Hooves, Armchair Apochrypha, Sky Blue Sky, Cassadaga

2008: Midnight Organ Fight, Dear Science, Volume One, Fleet Foxes, Vampire Weekend

2006: The Crane Wife, At Home With Owen, Waiter: You Vultures, Dog Problems

There are so many more albums that could be listed here, that goes without saying, but in the interest of space I had to limit myself. A year or two from now, with plenty of hindsight, I’m sure that 2009 could be well represented among these lists as well.

This final list offers up my favorite individual songs that have been made since 2000. A couple of the offerings come from albums not in the thirty that I have listed, but are of the finest caliber.

10. “Janet” by The Format

9. “Sweet Talk” by Dear and the Headlights

8. “July! July!” by The Decemberists

7. “To Be Young” by Ryan Adams

6. “Your English Is Good” by Tokyo Police Club

5. “The Sound of Settling” by Death Cab for Cutie

4. “Chicago” by Sufjan Stevens

3. “Anything You Want” by Spoon

2. “Heavy Metal Drummer” by Wilco

1. “Gamblin’ Man” by Limbeck

There it is, my final list about this last decade, save for one. That one is the list of what was best this year, and that will be forthcoming in the next few months. So stay tuned, friends.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

