Skip to content

Best and Worst Album Art

December 14, 2009

As an unabashed fan of the vinyl record I believe that the value of album art cannot be understated, and must be revered. Album art is exactly that: art.

Some of the “artists” who create these album covers, however, ought to be shot. This year album covers appeared to move, were frozen in time and completely scared me.

I couldn’t name them all, so add your favorite or least favorite in the comments.

Best (in no particular order)

Weezer – Raditude

This National Geographic contest winning photograph represents the coolest thing Weezer has done since “Tired of Sex”

Fanfarlo – Reservoir

This picture was taken by Sigur Rós lead singer Jonsi’s sister. It’s so awesome and creepy. I love it.

The xx – xx

Sometimes the best things in life are the simplest.

Animal Collective – Merriweather Post Pavilion

What a friendly cover, it hasn’t stopped waving “hello” yet.

Mars Volta – Octahedron

There’s a naked lady, some fruit, a clove of garlic, a prism…I don’t know what is going on here. I don’t want to know.

Wilco – (the Album)

The camel reappears throughout the album art, it’s brilliant.

Yeah Yeah Yeahs – It’s Blitz

I don’t know which still I like more; this or Raditude. Either way they’re great covers.

Worst (doesn’t matter what order)

Chris Brown – Graffiti

It’s hard to say what is worse: the skin tight clothes, embossed word art title or those stupid little monsters.

Dark Meat – When Shelter Came

A special thanks to the editors at Pitchfork for pointing out this gem. I never laughed so hard.

Green Day – 21st Century Breakdown

This image just screams: I have no idea what the kids like anymore! The answer to that problem was to put some lame graffiti and a pair of emotional lovers on the cover.

U2 – No Line on the Horizon

Nothing especially inflammatory about this one except it’s an exact ripoff of Richard Chartier and Taylor Deupree’s 2006 album Specification.Fifteen. Come on U2.

Dodo’s – Time to Die

This is just a hideous mess. I think I hate the font most.

The Avett Brothers – I and Love and You

I love this album, but I get the creeps from the cover.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

